My Duke of Edinburgh Gold

Grant Lawrie from 25th Stirling (Dunblane) Company shares his thoughts on achieving the very prestigious award. 

“This achievement is very important to me, as it will serve me in great stead in the future when it comes to searching for employment or going on to further education. The experiences I’ve had and skills that I’ve developed have benefited me greatly, and are the sort that may not have been available to me if I hadn’t participated in the award.

“The most challenging part of the award was the 4 day expedition over 50 miles through Knoydart. The combination of midges, rain and fatigue made it an incredibly tough experience, but it was made easier being able to share it with the same people I have been with since starting out in bronze.

“Personally, the most rewarding aspect was the opportunity of being able to learn new skills whilst enhancing already existing ones. In addition, it has allowed me to strengthen friendships with the people in my company that have completed all three awards of the DofE alongside me.”

 If you would like to find out more about The BB’s work with the DofE Award, visit our dedicated page.

 

Leave a Reply

